Diesel Music
Indie folk/Acoustic
Västerbottens län

1. Free Ride
2. Hanging On The Telephone
3. Under The Milky Way ♪

4. So Far Away
5. Bron-Y-Aur Stomp
6. With Every Heartbeat
7. Through My Sails
8. Sadness
9. Long Long Long
10. Polly
11. Going To California
12. Cinnamon Girl
13. The Needle and the Damage Done (Bonus)

Free Ride is a bit of an odd debut album for Swedish singer Micadelia, as with the exception of one song, it’s a covers album. That means we only have one song – “Sadness” – on which to judge her songwriting ability, but that isn’t the point: this is an album of performances, of re-interpretations. Despite the fact that there’s no common theme to the song or artist choice (featuring two Led Zeppelin selections, two from Neil Young, and others from Nirvana, Robyn/Kleerup, The Beatles, and so on) the album largely works because of its conciseness and quite a breezy, laid-back feel. None of the songs here are hugely challenging nor bleak, and as such they suit Mika Sundkvist’s soft voice.

Free Ride is quite a restrained debut, almost like an extended demo or trial run. Apparently Micadelia is thinking of releasing more self-penned material in future, which is an interesting prospect given that “Sadness”, her only writing contribution here, is as quietly, unassumingly impressive as the album as a whole.
創作者 葉總裁 的頭像

☭ marselip0910 叶俊华™

葉總裁 發表在 痞客邦 留言(0) 人氣()